What is MCDCB?

The Metro Cebu Development and Coordinating Board (MCDCB) is a coordinating body for metro-wide planning and development created on April 1, 2011 through a Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) signed by local government executives, heads of national government agencies, and leaders of the private – civil society sector.

The creation of the MCDCB is a manifestation of the heightened desire of public and private stakeholders to lead and plan for a desired and collective future for Cebu. Its aim is to facilitate the formulation, coordination, and monitoring of integrated development strategies, policies, and standards for the development, initially, of Metro Cebu.

MCDCB is a consortium of the Province of Cebu; 13 cities and municipalities located on the eastern side of Cebu island, including the cities of Carcar, Naga, Talisay, Cebu, Mandaue, Lapu-Lapu and Danao and municipalities of San Fernando, Minglanilla, Cordova, Consolacion, Liloan, and Compostela; regional line agencies; and private and civil society organizations.

Mega Cebu

Primus Inter Pares (First Among Equals)

The appended chart below shows the organizational structure of the Metro Cebu Development and Coordinating Board (MCDCB), which is led by the Cebu Provincial Government (Governor), with the LGU (Mayor) and the private sector/civil society as co-chairs, and the National Economic and Development Authority (NEDA) serving as MCDCB secretariat.

The Ramon Aboitiz Foundation Inc. (RAFI), through the Eduardo Aboitiz Development Studies Center (EADSC), facilitates the Mega Cebu program. It anchors the Research, Program and Organizational Development (RPOD) of the MCDCB, and serves as coordinating and operations unit and process facilitator of the various functions, structures, plans, programs, and efforts of the

The private sector/civil society co-chairs with the public sector the four (4) focus area-based committees (FABComs) namely:

  1. Integrated Development & Planning
  2. Environment and Public Safety
  3. HR, Assets and Partnerships
  4. ICT & Knowledge Management
Mega Cebu

MCDCB Organizational Chart

MCDCB Rationale and Purpose:

  • Coordinating body for shared and trans-boundary challenges and responsibilities
  • Platform for inter-local coordination and public-private sector collaboration
  • Forum for local-national integration
  • Launch pad for collective action and impact
  • Vehicle for regional, national, and international cooperation

MCDCB Areas of Cooperation:

  1. Urban and land use planning and  zoning
  2. Transport and traffic management
  3. Pollution control and solid waste management
  4. Flood control, drainage and sewerage management
  5. Urban renewal and shelter provision
  6. Health and sanitation
  7. Public safety
  8. Road improvement and infrastructure development
  9. Coastal resources, watershed, and  environmental management
  10. Disaster risk reduction and climate  change adaptation

MCDCB Officers and Members

MCDCB’s leadership is composed of the Governor of the Province of Cebu and a 37-member board. The board consists of elected local officials, regional directors or heads of national government agencies, and leaders from the business – civil society sector.

Chair and Co-chairs

Hon. Gwendolyn F. Garcia, Chair
Governor, Province of Cebu
(April 2011 – December 2012) 

Hon. Agnes D. Magpale, Acting Chair
Acting Governor, Province of Cebu
(January 2013 – June 2013) 

Hon. Hilario P. Davide III, Chair
Governor, Province of Cebu
(July 2013 – present) 

Hon. Michael L. Rama, Co-chair
Mayor, City of Cebu
(April 2011 – present) 

Mr. Roberto E. Aboitiz, Co-chair (Primary, Private Sector)
President, Ramon Aboitiz Foundation Inc.
(April 2011 – present) 

Mr. Gordon Alan P. Joseph, Co-chair (Alternate, Private Sector))
President, Cebu Business Club
(May 2013 – present) 

Local Government Unit Members

  • Province of Cebu
  • City of Cebu
  • City of Mandaue
  • City of Lapulapu
  • City of Talisay
  • City of Naga
  • City of Carcar
  • City of Danao
  • Municipality of Cordova
  • Municipality of Consolacion
  • Municipality of Liloan
  • Municipality of Compostela
  • Municipality of Minglanilla
  • Municipality of San Fernando

National Government Agency Members

  • Department of Public Works & Highways
  • Department of Environment & Natural Resources
  • DENR – Environment Management Bureau
  • Department of Health
  • Department of Interior & Local Government
  • Land Transportation Office
  • National Economic and Development Authority
  • Philippine National Police
  • Regional Highway Patrol Unit
  • Regional Maritime Office
  • Naval Forces Central
  • Coast Guard District Central
  • Philippine Information Agency
  • Metro Cebu Water District (as of March 2013)
  • National Youth Commission (as of March 2013)
  • Housing and Land Use Regulatory Board (as of March 2013)
  • Mactan-Cebu International Airport Authority (as of Aug 2013)
  • Cebu Port Authority (as of August 2013)

Private Sector & Civil Society Members

  • Ramon Aboitiz Foundation Inc.
  • Cebu Business Club
  • Cebu Leads Foundation
  • Cebu Chamber of Commerce & Industry
  • Mandaue Chamber of Commerce & Industry
  • Filipino-Chinese Chamber of Commerce
  • IBM Philippines


  • National Economic and Development Authority – Region VII

Research, Program and Organizational Development

  • Ramon Aboitiz Foundation Inc.

3 thoughts on “What is MCDCB?

  1. Pingback: Mega Cebu Blog | MCDCB First Quarter Meeting (2014)

  2. Pingback: Mega Cebu Blog | MCDCB Milestones (April 2011-February 2014)

  3. Pingback: Mega Cebu Blog | Inspiring words from MCDCB leaders

Share with us your thoughts and reactions!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s